Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

#Mamavation Monday September 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 6:45 am
Tags: , ,

My weight changes every single day.  I know that’s why you’re not supposed to weight everyday, but it’s wierd that it can vary so much from one day to the next.  So, I guess if we go by today’s weight I’m not really down any from last week.

This week has been stressful to say the least.  I got laid off from my job and we made the decision that we’re going to be moving in with my parents for a while.  So, I’m going to be busy packing and moving…maybe I won’t have time to snack and eat unhealthy.  My mom also has a nicer treadmill than me, so maybe I can use it more. 

I did use the treadmill 1 day this week.  My walking/jogging intervals are getting better, even with working out so little. 

I still haven’t bought any soda at the grocery store.  But for some reason I still find it hard to get all my water down. 

I can’t help but thinking maybe this wasn’t for me.  Everyone here is so motivated…and I’ve already talked about my lack of motivation.  But, it just seems like everyone is doing something and I’m not.  Oh well.

 

22 Responses to “#Mamavation Monday”

  1. Take a deep breathe. Stress is evil. Just remember to breathe and things will be ok.

    Have you tried adding fresh fruit to your water?

  2. Goals are what keep me motivated. Have you thought of registering for an upcoming 5k near your mom’s place and training for it? If you find one (you can use mynextrace.com to find races) I’ll pay your registration fee (no word of a lie) – how’s that for motivation? Email me when you’ve found a race and I’ll register you for it!

  3. Oops – that last comment was from me: The Fitness Cheerleader (yes I’m also Mom on the Run).

  4. Carrie Says:

    Great job at not buying that soda!! It’s bad!! Keep your head up and you will make it through. Hubby got laid off a few months ago and found a new job about 2 months ago. It will all work out.

  5. I take it you havent read my post this week. We haven’t bought soda in, well, so long I can’t remember, but I am also struggling with water. It happens to all of us, and luckily we have some really motivated successful ladies around us to help give us that push we need. You are not alone, by any means!

  6. One day at a time. Agree with Janice, if you register for a 5k, then it gives you a goal to work toward. We all suffer from extreme lack of motivation from time to time and it can seem overwhelming and even depressing when you feel like you’re the only one who’s struggling. Believe me, we’re all struggling with this now and then. Don’t give up, keep fighting. We’re all here to support you 🙂

  7. Shannon Says:

    Keep your head up! Don’t get dicouraged. Just take a deep breath in and, ekep going. You can do it!

  8. Amanda @beeacutie2 Says:

    trust me I know what you are going through I just moved back in with my parents, so the stress is there yes I know, but make sure you are still eatting which I know can be hard when you are packing and yes soda is evil! Good job on that, *hugs*

  9. Greta Says:

    No!! We’re here to help you!! You will get motivated. But if it’s too much pressure and you need a break, then that’s what you gotta do, babe. I’m so sorry to hear about the job loss. That sounds depressing. Hang in there. Do some exercise just to help your mental well-being, okay?

    XO

  10. Don’t worry about the weight fluctuation. That happens to me too. I was anal and would weigh myself everyday like you. It can get frustrating UNLESS you track it for a couple of months, because then you will start to notice a pattern. And your body will follow a pattern when it’s losing weight if you keep your nutrition under control. When you learn your body pattern, and everyone’s is different, so I can’t really tell you what to expect here, you will start to feel better.

    Oh and ALWAYS weigh yourself first thing in the morning after you go to the bathroom. You will be your lightest then. Don’t weigh yourself at night or in the middle of the day…it sucks! I will weigh anywhere from 2-4 lbs. more in the middle of the day than in ht emorning, so it makes a difference.

    Bravo to you on the soda front. That was a difficult hurdle for me to get over. I was a Diet Coke freak over 4 years ago. And Diet Dr. Pepper. They both make you fatter…not skinnier. Crazy.

    Anyways, XXOO

  11. Sorry to hear about your job 😦 That’s always a stressful situation. However, you can do this. No one here is perfect and we all have our down weeks. Leah says she doesn’t want perfect people in teh sistahood. Know that we are all here to listen when you need it!

    Have a great week.

  12. Laila Says:

    My first week as a Mamavation Sista I was on the scale every day. It was hard not to see if i had any progress. I finally put it away and only weighed myself once a week, it became like a game. And I know its easy to read everyone else’s posts and feel like you are doing enough. You have to listen to your body and find your own rhythm. The results will speak for themselves. AND you have a great group of Sistas who are here to push and support you whenever you need it! Best of luck to you this week!

  13. Rachel Says:

    First of all… take a deep breath. Motivation for each person is individual just like his/her goals. Everyone is motivated by something different. I would suggest sitting back and thinking about WHY you are on this journey. WHAT motivates you? (prizes, recognition)? For me… looking HAWT and SEXY for my husband motivates me. Being healthy, active, and ‘cute’ for my family motivates me. For me, rewards keep me going strong towards my goals (next on my list is a vacuum, and iPhone!) 🙂

    Everyone has different reasons to be on this journey… as well as different reasons what keeps them motivated. Think about yours and you will find yoru drive! 🙂

    HUGS

    Rachel
    http://www.runningrachel.com

  14. mozzie76 Says:

    I wish I could hug you … hugs help make the world go round 🙂

    I remember when I got laid off from my last job… and was just finally recovering from the nervous breakdown caused by my rocky divorce… and moving back in with my parents and … well, you get the idea. my point is that it may not look like it right now, but everything happens for a reason. it is hard, but I know you can do it. just make sure that you are setting goals that are realistic – I know you can do it!

  15. I feel so undeserving of the kindness you all have shown me! I am trying to kick this negative attitude…focus on the things I want to change and make my goals happen! I am in control of my destiny, and I will reach my goals!

  16. Ugh, the scale can get frustrating if you watch it every day. Some days when I’m really “proud” of myself, I weigh myself and see I gain 4 pounds and it’s discouraging. Try to stay away from that.

    Congrats on staying away from the soda. You’ll see a huge difference in the way your food tastes. 🙂

  17. Joanna Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about what happened with your job. I was laid off in January 2009, and I didn’t find a new job until February 2010. During that time, my husband’s health deteriorated so he couldn’t work at the steel factory he had been working at for 5 years. Now he has a really crummy part time job, and I have a crummy full time job that makes less than unemployment (but does have health insurance!). We are about 2 weeks away from moving in with my parents. My hubby has a job lead that sounds really promising, and if it doesn’t work out then we are packing up and moving in with my parents.

    I think being a part of the Mamavation Sistahood will be awesome and is perfect for you. We don’t all start with a ton of motivation. Before I joined the Sistahood (like 2 weeks ago, mind you), I was exercising like once a month. And yeah, I knew what good food and portions were, but I was only eating them about once a week. The rest was all crap. And water? Psh. Not drinking soda? Psh. I still have cans on my desk LOL – empty and waiting to recycle, but it shows you how unmotivated I am on that one.

    If we all had motivation, there would be no reason for us to bump around here together – we could all do it on our own and rock it. But we can’t. I know I sure as heck can’t do it myself. That’s why I pledged.

    I know about right now life looks pretty darn bleak. When it gets like that around me, I push myself into a workout, push myself to eat healthy food and push all the bad thoughts and negativity out of my head. Sometimes it’s the only way you can survive. The constant struggle to get rid of the bad stuff becomes easier after a while, and after a while you get some bright spots again. It does get easier. When life is crumbling around me, the things I cling to are my husband, my son, and our family. Working out makes me a better mom – I have more energy, more patience. Eating well makes me a better mom – I’m feeding my son better and don’t feel guilty about taking the easy way out.

    You can totally do this. You are awesome, even on the days when you don’t work out and you just want to sit around in a funk all day. But those are also the days when moving your booty helps the most. If you ever need to talk, I’m here.

  18. OK – I’m going to stop whining about my bathroom demolition now. I’m so sorry you lost your job. Hang in there. Maybe something really awesome is waiting around the corner! Crossing fingers for you and throwing in some prayers too.

  19. MrsFatass Says:

    You know what, girl? Whether or not this ends up being “for you”, everyone struggles sometimes with motivation. ME especially. And even at my best I’m a pretty lousy cheerleader.

    But you know what I read here? That you’ve got a bunch of stuff going on. A bunch of stuff that would drive ANYONE head first into the cheetos bag. But you? Saw options. Business helping to keep you from snacking. A nicer tread mill.

    You can do this if you want to, no matter what the level of cheerleader. It looks to me like you have your own brand of motivation in there already.


Leave a Reply

