Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

unemployed September 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , ,

Yep, got laid off today.

Work had slowed down quite a bit.  We all know zanybandz are a craze and it’s going to slow down eventually.  But, it just really sucks to think you’re safe in a company and then have this happen.

Me and my sister both worked there and both got laid off today.  Not by the owners.  Not face to face.  By our “supervisor” who sent us a text saying to call her sometime tonight.  When we did she told us the news that Friday would be our last day.  We’re down to part time work right now.  Kristin is supposed to work tomorrow and I’m supposed to work on Friday.  But, what’s the point in me going up there and sitting all day Friday and acting like I care about them?!  I’m going to go Friday morning and clean out my desk and clean off my computer and leave.  There’s no point in me staying there all day.

Now what am I supposed to do?  We were barely scraping by financially as it is.  And now this.  It’s like I can’t catch a freaking break.  I just don’t understand the fakeness of some people.  I don’t understand telling a person 1 thing to their face and saying another thing behind their back.  I don’t understand how you can sleep at night with this kind of business practice.  I guess for some people money really is everything.

So for now, I’ll be staying at home with Lexi.  I think we’ve decided she still needs to go to daycare part time to hold her spot for when I get another job.  And that will also give me time to go to interviews (if I should get one).    So I guess I’ll spend my time trying to do stuff for craft shows this fall and hope I can make a little bit of money that way.

Good luck to everyone still at Zanybandz. 

Karma is a bitch.

 

3 Responses to “unemployed”

  1. MrsLala Says:

    Aw crap hun! I am so sorry!!! I hope you get many interviews and quickly and that you are re-employed in record time.

  2. Joanna Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your unemployment. It totally sucks. I was laid off in January 2009, and I can relate to where you are right now. In August of 2009, my husband (26 at the time) had 3 heart attacks and then he wasn’t able to work at the same job anymore either.

    I don’t have any happy warm-fuzzy feelings to pass on to you, although I sincerely wish that I did. For us, this all started almost 4 years ago when my husband’s full time job cut down to part time. It’s been like one hit after another. I have learned, through all of this, that even when I think my back is up against the wall, another option or choice comes through. Sometimes it’s not a good option or choice, but there’s always something brewing.

    The only way we have gotten through this is to make our bonds stronger between the three of us in our family (DH, me and DS). The extended family doesn’t understand it and gets upset with us a lot, but we have gone from doing what we are to keep people happy around us to the survival of scratching by.

    You can do this. You are strong. Even in the bleakest moments. Just remember your love for one another. Good luck on the job search, I hope you find an awesome job that you love even better than your last one and that pays three times as much with half the responsibilities in a week. We can all dream. 🙂

  3. I didn’t realize you had a blog until 5 mins ago. yah…you do reap what you sow. I always knew they never knew how to manage a business. That was clear as mud. However…. I never knew many other things….


Leave a Reply

