Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

#Mamavation Monday Week 6 August 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 3:17 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Well, I ate horrible this week!  I’m having a hard time with peer pressure at work.  When everyone wants to go eat something unhealthy I go along with them so I don’t have to sit at my desk and eat by myself. 

I have still been drinking a ton of water though.

Treadmill is still outside, but it was cool enough in the evening this week that I worked out 2 nights.

Don’t know what’s wrong with me.  I know I’m fat, unhealthy, and unattractive.  But, I still don’t have the motivation or determination to change?  Why?  It’s stupid!

Welcome to the Mamavation team Cynthia Pasquella!

Cynthia and her husband own SoCal Cleanse

SoCal Cleanse organic protein +detox is ideal for detoxifying and cleansing. Not only does our hemp protein powder contain toxin-busting fiber but it’s also easily digested, it won’t leave you bloated, and it contains a blend of herbs specifically formulated to promote healthy digestion and cleansing

 

16 Responses to “#Mamavation Monday Week 6”

  1. It sounds like your motivation is about yourself and in my opinion that isn’t going to change you. My weight loss was for my kids. I didn’t want them to grow up overweight like me and I knew that if I was overweight they would most likely be overweight. Chew on that and see if your motivation changes. As mothers, when we do things for our kids, it lasts longer. It’s just mother nature. We instinctively care more about them then ourselves. XXOO

  2. gretablau Says:

    Are you depressed? I know when I was having a hard time motivation recently it was because I was depressed. Go watch the Billy Blank video that Leah posted. It’s very inspirational. Then watch this:

    http://www.weightlossguru.com/index.cfm/2010/8/23/YOU-ARE-BETTER-THAN-THAT/

  3. Sorry to hear you’re having a tough time. Making the changes take time and you have to find you’re real “why” to identify your motivation. Is it really for you? Your kids? Or is it because someone said something?

    In your heart you know why you aren’t motivated – you just need to acknowledge why. If it’s because you’re afraid of failure, we’ve all been there and that’s what we’re here for now! 🙂

    Good luck this week and let us know how we can help!

    Ivette

  4. I’m sorry the week hasn’t been good for you. Maybe acknowledge your negative self-talk and try to catch it before it gets to you. When we think negative thoughts, our mood lowers, our self-esteem drops and we continue in the vicious cycle, often affecting those around us. Next time you start to think those thoughts, tell yourself to stop and think something positive like “I have the power to change my circumstance”, “I am stronger than the negative thoughts that consume me”. Then commit to change. You’ll be surprised at how a positive mindset can affect your ability to do anything you set your mind to. *hugs*

  5. Renee Says:

    I totally hear you about not wanting to be on medication – however, depression is a disease just like any other. Stay on the meds until you get motivation to do things. Start changing your diet – remove wheat/gluten/diary/soy I am telling you that it makes a difference. I am speaking from experience – I take antidepressant meds but am finally feeling “normal” without them after making serious changes to my diet.

  6. kia Says:

    Personally I think your weight loss has to be ultimately for yourself and will stick once you are able to work with whatever is making you think you are less than deserving of the hard work and ultimate success you will have. I have not dealt with anti-depressants before and am so happy that people that have are open and supportive with comments that can hopefully help your situation. On the real though, if you take healthy steps with your nutrition at work you may make people feel awkward at first but you will help influence them in the long run. That usually seems to be the case… there is no shame in being the “healthy” girl in your workplace. Best wishes for taking this week one day at a time and making it excellent.

  7. Joanna Says:

    Peer pressure stinks! To keep myself away from the unhealthy foods like that, I eat lunch by myself – and treat myself by reading a book while I’m doing it. I don’t get much of a chance to read (or sit, for that matter), when I’m at home, so it is a huge treat and one that I can really only do by myself. You could also try journaling, or something else you like to do to fill that time.

    Way to go on the water and the treadmill! You can totally do this! You know what you have to do, what it takes, and you have awesome support here. We are with you all the way!

    I totally get wanting to be off anti-depressants. For me, the best thing I ever did was start exercising. It helped me when I had terrible migraines all the time and a neurologist told me to get up off my booty and work out. I am a total endorphin junky now and I work out as hard as I can just so I can reap the benefits of the super-awesome-happy-fun feeling that is the reward.

    You can totally do this! Good luck this week and I look forward to tweeting with you!

    @way2gomom

  8. HUGS Mama! Dealing with depression is hard stuff. You must take care of your self though, not only physically but mentally as well. Let us know how we can support you and lift you up. The sistahood is always there.

  9. I wouldn’t let go of the meds just yet until you get a good routine with your diet and activity. It’s okay to try to tackle one big thing at a time, but you are risking a big quit by trying to get your fitness on track while trying to go off the anti-depressants! Try to eat better this week, and see how that goes for ya!

  10. Can you work on your self talk before you tackle anything else? You have a lot of negative descriptors in this post. Instead of saying, “I’m fat and unhealthy,” say, “I’m on the road to being healthy.” That statement acknowledges that you have arrived yet, but you are eliminating the negative ways that you are viewing yourself. I think you’ll find focusing on positive things will help you.

    Hugs!

  11. lorrie Says:

    hugs i know what its like to be negative and let insecurity just drag you down till your ready to admit defeat and not even try again its awful I still deal with it in other areas of my life particuarly men and my self worth. I would reccomend a book I read by Beth Moore ” So Long Insecurity” its an amazing book.

    You are beautiful and you can make it happen my advice is find a place near work that has healthy options and invite your coworkers along with you make healthy living appealing to them. also if they are not up for that then find a place near you a park or other place where you want to go and don’t let them pressure you into going you have to stand firm knowing that its your choice and that you are making the one that is right not them.

    this week just love yourself and know that you are going the best you can and work hard to be all that I know you can be

    motivation present

  12. Awww babe! I wish you weren’t so hard on yourself.

    You know, I’ve tried and tried and tried to do “this” for years. It never actually happened until I made that mental decision that YES, I am going to do something about it!

    It will come, love. It will come. You have to start, one day at a time.

    Chin up, babe! We love you!

    Lisa – @ljenator
    http://www.50n8.com

  13. Julie M Says:

    All I heard in your tiny blog post was negativity. If you tell yourself you are fat and can’t do it, then guess what that is what you will have. Start telling yourself the good things you did everyday. Did you park farther away when going to the grocery store, did you take the steps at work? Find the good in what you do and soon you will see that the bad isn’t always as bad as it seems. Its the positive baby steps forward that will start the ball rolling and once it starts move out because you will be on a roll! Read this blog post for Shay (a Biggest Loser contestant) http://www.shaysorrells.com/motivation/motivation/

  14. Holy cow girl! First you are entitled to a cheat day once a week. Don’t fret about the lunch thing. If you do go out pick the best possible choice. And honestly you have to reword that whole last line. It’s not healthy for you! Take baby steps! We are here for you. This is a very big positive group of women. Good luck to you this week. Take it one day at a time.


Leave a Reply

