Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

#mamavation monday-week 2 July 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m doing my post now because weekday blogging doesn’t always happen for me.

Well, Week 1 didn’t go as well as I would have liked it to.  After being so enthusiastic last weekend, it kinda went downhill.  My treadmill is outside and it’s like a million degrees in Oklahoma right now, even when the sun goes down.  So, it was really hard to go outside and run.  I know that’s not a good excuse, but I’m using it anyway.  I also made the mistake of thinking I could drink the tap water at work!  GROSS!  So this week I bought my own package of bottled water to take to work with me.  Last excuse…since Thursday I’ve been overwhelmed with some kind of allergic reaction.  It started out with 1 quarter sized welt on my left thigh.  By Friday morning I had over 20 on each leg.  This morning I wake up and it’s 10 times worse, itching like crazy…huge welts.  I have a few on my lower legs now, and tonight I’ve gotten about 10 on my left arm/shoulder area. 

So, I’m going to extend the same goals for next week:

drink more water

exercise daily

eat healthier foods

Needless to say, no weight loss this week, but I also didn’t have a gain.

 

24 Responses to “#mamavation monday-week 2”

  1. Oooh, those welts sound horrid! Congrats on posting even without a loss. Mamavation is lucky to have you!! Here’s to your next week being better.

  2. No worries – we all have good & bad weeks. I hope this week is better for you!

  3. Carrie Symes Says:

    Those welts don’t sound good you should go see a Dr. I used to break out in hives for no apperent reason and something like that you really need to go get checked out!

  4. No gain is good! My mom had problems with welts/hives after every time she mowed her yard. She had to start taking allergy shots and it really helped her! Hope you feel better with the allergies, and have a great week!

  5. Julie M Says:

    That sounds miserable, I hope you get the reaction under control soon.

    Just keep working on those baby steps, you can do it. You have good goals to start, just don’t let yourself get overwhelmed.

  6. Shannon Says:

    Good luck reaching your goals. I hope your allergeries go away and, the heat is more bareable for you. Have a great week!

  7. HUGS It is okay and completely normal to have a down/off week. It is hot almost everywhere you go this time of year! The good thing is is that fall is right around the corner… and that cool crisp temperature is PERFECT for running outdoors! Have a healthy and active week! 🙂

  8. Hey girl! I have a suggestion. I think you are trying to do too much right now. I always suggest small changes to beginners. You never want to overwhelm yourself and end up feeling like you failed. Tone it down a bit. Set yourself up for success not failure. XXOO

  9. Laila Says:

    I agree with Leah, small steps to begin with. It happened to me very quickly. I started on full speed then life happened and I’ve fallen off. Best of luck to you this week!

  10. mkopp1 Says:

    Set smaller, fewer goals to start. Keep with drinking water, because that is important with working out and with the heat you guys have in OK. Hopefully you are taking something for those welts…not fun for you! ((hugs))

  11. I agree with Leah. Set a few small goals instead of jumping in feet first. Baby steps!

  12. Laura Says:

    Good luck to you this week! I hope your allergies went away. My daughter had a similar problem and took benadryl each day.

  13. Hey, fellow Oklahoma Girl! (I’m in Houston now, but consider NE Oklahoma to be “home”).

    I agree with Leah — it is so much easier to focus on 1-2 goals rather than a bunch. . . especially since you have the added stress of the allergic reaction to deal with.

    Water and one type of activity might be a good place to start — anywhere you can swim? That would be good with the triple digits these days (and it’s just as good of a cardio workout as a treadmill).

  14. Amanda @beeacutie2 Says:

    I agree with leah, as you hear all teh time slow and steady wins teh race! Trust me I live in Oklahoma as well and I know how hot it is, just make sure you are dirnking taht water and try not to do so much!

  15. I have to agree with Leah! 🙂

    Also, I would suggest that you make that mental decision to do one small thing at a time. Make sure that you’re absolutely ready to commit to that goal, because if you’re not, and you fail, you’ll end up beating yourself up!

    I hope you figure out the reaction! My hubs went to the same kinda thing on his face 2 weeks ago. We think he’s allergic to the bamboo at our new home.

    LOVE AND HUGS BABE!!!

    • I think it was the laundry soap. Someone had given us some Tide free and clear. That’s the only thing I can think that was different. I bought some All free and clear this weekend (what we normally use) and it seems to be going away.

  16. Looks like everyone agrees with Leah!

    I just stopped by from Mamavation to read your post!

    Getting started on a weight loss journey can be so uninspiring sometimes… I hate feeling like I put in so much effort and got nothing! ‘They’ say that it takes 21 days to develop a habit… I guess we should just consider these last 7 to count towards the greater good of achieving better habits and move forward!

    Why is your treadmill outside! Probably because they are giant space hogs…. but still… its soooo hot in the summer…

    Keep us posted on the mysterious allergic reaction! I have super sensitive skin so I know how much hives and the like really stink!

    Good luck this week! We are SOOOOO going to lose weight!

    Laura
    Twitter: @SeeLauraRun

    • The treadmill is outside because I got a hankering to jog one night around 2am, so I lugged the thing outside because it’s so loud and I didn’t want to wake my husband or baby! Now I’m going to have to lug it back inside though!

  17. Krista Says:

    Good luck on your goals this week! Hope that your allergic reaction stops bothering you soon

  18. angelretreat Says:

    glad the allergy is going away just focus on one thing a week and really get good at it like week 1 water intake week 2 focus on certain exercise etc

  19. Roxy Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your week. 😦 The allergies sound like a horrible case of hives. I hope you’re doing better now!

  20. Greta Says:

    Eh don’t be so hard on yourself. Having an allergic reaction counts as being sick. If you’re in this for the long haul, then there are going to be days and weeks when you just can’t keep to your goals.

    No gain is good!! Look forward to reading your post this week!


Leave a Reply

