Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finger food! January 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 6:12 pm
Tags: , , ,


In the matter of a week, Lexi has gone from only being able to feed herself large things like crackers or the Gerber “wagon wheels.” Today she pretty much mastered “puffs.” We’ve been feeding them to her for a couple weeks now, but she couldn’t manage to pick them up with just her thumb and pointer finger, and get it to her mouth. She would pick it up and it would end up clenched inside her fist. But, today it was like a light bulb went off and she suddenly understood what she needed to do! I’m so proud of her!
Yesterday I spent a while making some baby food. I made sweet potatoes and carrots. Instead of putting them in the baby food maker I just heated them and then mashed them with a fork. Lexi doesn’t like her food too runny and I’ve been having to add rice cereal or oatmeal to everything. So, this left it with more texture. I also cubed up some carrots, sweet potatoes, and green beans for her to have for “finger food.” I can’t believe she’s almost 9 months old! Where did my teeny tiny girl go?!

 

2 Responses to “Finger food!”

  1. JessieLeigh Says:

    This baby-my 3rd-is the first one I’ve made baby food for and I love it! I love the fact that I can customize the textures, just like you were mentioning. Isn’t it amazing to see all the things they learn? Congrats to your sweet baby girl on this newest accomplishment! 🙂

  2. JessieLeigh it is amazing! It’s crazy that one day she can’t do something and the next day she can!


Leave a Reply

