Adventures of a new mom!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I will do great things January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Danielle Brigance @ 10:11 pm

I may not be the best wife, mom, or person. But, I can and will do great things with my life. I’ve had several moments in my life where I have felt beyond worthless. I’ve been unemployed twice in the 4 years Jacob and I have been married. I battled infertility and was unable to carry 3 of my babies. I thank God every day for my Lexi. She is the single greatest thing I’ve ever done.
A short time ago I “met” Kristine Brite McCormick through her blog, www.instructionsarenotincluded.blogspot.com, and twitter (@kristinebrite). Kristine lost her sweet baby Cora to a CHD (congenital heart defect) at only 5 days old. Kristine didn’t lie down and count herself as lost. She stood up and started a fight against CHD. From the first time I read her story I admired this woman. This woman who had just lost her baby was stronger than I ever could be. I thought back to my 3 miscarriages and the pain I went through. I thought about Lexi, and how I would die if I lost her. While there’s no way I will ever be as strong as Kristine, I can be strong with her. If Kristine can get up every morning ready for a fight, so can I. I vowed from then on that I would do something I can be proud of every day.
I’m making prayer squares to donate to people in times of suffering. I sent out my first shipment of 40 squares to http://www.doinggoodinhername.com last week. I am working on my first prayer shawl that I intend to donate to them as well. I have written letters to my state representatives asking them to make sure The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act is fully funded and supported. I wrote a letter to my Governor asking him to declare a CHD Awareness week in our state. I received the proclamation in the mail last week. February 7-14, 2010 is officially CHD Awareness week in the state of Oklahoma.
I may not be able to do much. But, I will do something.

 

2 Responses to “I will do great things”

  1. Kristine Says:

    You have done amazing things. I am so grateful to have found you. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  2. Wendy Says:

    Just one something means everything to CHD families.

    We all thank you.


Leave a Reply

